Monday, 11 September 2017

Ayrshire and Renfrewshire Players pipped in the Commonwealth Spoon Finals

 Marg Dalziel and Emma Thomson (Ayrshire) ,  Margaret McGregor  and Sheila Townsley (Dumfriesshire) ,
 and Marilyn Muir and Muriel Young (Renfrewshire )

Margaret McGregor (Lochmaben) and Sheila Townsley (Dumfries and County), representing Dumfriesshire 1, won the Commonwealth Spoons Grand Final at Alyth Golf Club today.
In the foursomes format, they had a net score of 72.5 off 13.5 of a combined handicap to head a field of 44 pairs who qualified via various regional competitions.
They won by 0.5 of a stroke from runners-up Ayrshire 1 (Margaret Dalziel and Emma Thomson, both Loudoun Gowf Club members) who scored 73 off 16.
Renfrewshire 3 (Marilyn Muir and Muriel Young of Old Ranfurly) also had a total of 73 off 13 but they were placed third after a countback.

Par 71
72.5 Dumfriesshire 1: M McGregor (Lochmaben) and S Townsley (Dumfries & Co) (13.5).
73 Ayrshire 1: M Dalziel and E Thomson (Loudoun Gowf) (16); Renfrewshire 3: M Muir and M Young (Old Ranfurly) (13).
73.5 Dunbartonshire & Argyll: B Cunningham and K Waddell (Hilton Park) (26.5).
74 Ayrshire 3: L Keohone (Loudoun Gowf) and C Malcolm (Prestwick St Cuthbert) (5).
74.5 Midlothian 1: L Calder (Turnhouse) and S Rennie (Longniddry) (9.5); Renfrewshire 2: G McLeod and S McVey (Williamwood) (11.5).
75 Borders 1: L Towers and M Towers (Minto) (16).
76 Aberdeenshire 2: M Black and E Gissing (Murcar Links) (12); Perth & Kinross 2: C Henderson and S MacDougall (Aberfeldy) (16); Midlothian 3: M McBain and S Randall (Carrickvale) (13).
76.5 Perth & Kinross 3: L Kyle (Milnathort) and C Lambie (Dunkeld & Birnam) (16.5).
77.5 Dunbartonshire & Argyll 1: R Agnew (Cardross) and A Shanks (Dumbarton) (15.5); Dunbartonshire & Argyll 4: L McColl (Carrick at Cameron House) and A Telfer (Milngavie) (9).
78 Lanarkshire 1: J J Holley and M A Lowson (Strathaven) (27); Stirling & Clackmannan 1: G Parry and S Press (Linlithgow) (26).
78.5 Midlothian 6 (S F Ashiurst (Murrayfield) and C Nixon (Goswick) (15.5).
79 Midlothian 2: F Douglas and S Morland (Ravelston) (12); East Lothian 4: A Berg and L Gray (Royal Musselburgh) (19).
79.5 Ayrshire 2: J Martin (Troon Ladies) and S Morran (Kilmarnock Barassie) (23.5); Renfrewshire 1: L Morris and G Unick (Williamwood) (12.5); Aberdeenshire 1: E Pirie (Duff House Royal) and P Smith (Rosehearty) (17.5); Midlothian 5: U Fleming and N Hogg (Merchants of Edinburgh) (16.5).

For all the Scores CLICK HERE