Monday, 10 May 2021

Julie Wilson wins the West of Scotland Championship over Cochrane Castle

Julie Wilson - 2021 West of Scotland Champion
(photo courtesy of Jean MacIntyre)

The 2021 West of Scotland Championship took place over Cochrane Castle Golf Club yesterday (Sunday, 9th May.)

With a field of over 40 participants and the weather better than predicted, it turned out, for some, a very close competition.

Megan and Julie - Photo courtesy of Jean MacIntyre

Julie Wilson (Williamwood) was the winner of the West of Scotland Championship Trophy with a gross 75 (bih) over Megan Briggs (Kilmacolm).  

D&A'S Lorna McClymont (Milngavie) was a close third with a gross 76.

Jodie Graham - Photo courtesy of Jean MacIntyre

Jodie Graham (Hamilton) had a very successful day finishing her round with an eagle 2 at the 18th hole !

She won the  Handicap Trophy and  Prize with her net 73 with a better inward half from Renfrewshire's June Lockhart (Douglas Park) Julie Wilson (Williamwood) and Rosie Maguire ( Pollok Golf Club) and also was a member of the winning Lanarkshire Junior team.

Eilidh Briggs, Megan Briggs and Jennifer Rankin
Winning Team - Renfrewshire
Photo courtesy of Jean MacIntyre

Senior Team Trophy  was won by Renfrewshire’s Eilidh Briggs, Megan Briggs (both Kilmacolm) and Jennifer Rankin (Haggs Castle) with a gross score of 154 - over Lanarkshire’s Lesley Lloyd (Ladies Golf Club Troon) Susan Woodhouse (East Kilbride) and Susan McGrenaghan (Hayston) (156).  The trophy is decided by the two best gross scores from three.

The Junior Team Trophy was won with a score of 148 (and a better inward half) by Lanarkshire’s Jodie Graham, Lindsay Main and Neve Marshall over Renfrewshire’s Jennifer Lynagh, Rosie Maguire and Ava Graham.  The trophy is decided by the best two net scores from three.

Cochrane Castle - Par 72 / CR 71.6 / Slope Rating 126

Gross Leaderboard
75 Julie Wilson (Williamwood), Megan Briggs (Kilmacolm)
76 Lorna McClymont (Milngavie)
77 Alyson McGinnigle (Williamwood)
78 Lesley Lloyd (Hayston), Susan Woodhouse (East Kilbide)
79 Eilidh Briggs (Kilmacolm), Eva O'Connor (Bothwell Castle)

Leaderboard Net Scores 
 73 - Jodie Graham [8] (Hamilton) , June Lockhart [16]  (Douglas Park), Julie Wilson [2] Williamwood , Rosie Maguire (Pollok GC) [10] 
 74 - Justine Fulton [8] (Hayston)
 75 - Jennifer Lynagh [8] (Caldwell), Alyson McGinnigle [2] (Williamwood) , Neve Marshall [16] (Cathkin Braes)
 76 - Lesley Lloyd [2] (Ladies Golf Club Troon) , Eva O'Connor [3] (Bothwell Castle)

Team Award
Senior Team Award - Renfrewshire 154
Junior Team Award - Lanarkshire 148 (bih)

Jean MacIntyre (West of Scotland Secretary) thanked  Renfrewshire’s Fiona Armour and Carol Fell for all their hard work to ensure our first attempt at running a West of Scotland Event through Scottish Golf’s Venue Management System (VMS) went according to plan